Dream signs

I have been practicing dream yoga for two years with great success. I am, however, confused about dream signs (water is my main sign). If I am assuming I am in a dream then why would I stop and recognize a dream sign. If it is all a dream why would I single one aspect of it as different. The only solution I have found is to say “water is a dream sign, this must be a dream.”
Thank you very much and happy dreams.

3 Likes

Good topic. I think the fact that something happens in a dream that wouldn’t happen in the “waking” state is the purpose of a dream sign. I have flooding streets as one of my dream signs but sometimes don’t make the connection till I wake up. A better one for me is looking at my hand and seeing fingers missing or seeing someone who has been dead for many years.

As Barry mentioned, I take the dream signs to be wake up tools to recognize I am dreaming and become lucid. For me the appearance of a certain village in recurring dreams is one. ‘Oh, I am in that village again…must be a dream’

Also though, I set some dream signs that could happen in waking life such as when the gas truck goes by with it’s music. In the waking state, I use it to stop and ask myself…‘Am I dreaming now?’ That usually leads me to some open awareness meditation. I’m liking that practice.

I seem to remember Andrew suggesting that if we use dream signs practice also during waking time, it will strengthen the habit of noticing dream signs and asking that question during dreamtime…‘Am I dreaming right now?’

1 Like