Hi y’all - Aspiring dreamer here

Quick hello from Virginia USA! I’ve always been fascinated by dreams of all kinds, and really got deep into trying to understand nightmares when one of my sons had them repetitively and quite disruptively for a while. I am interested in just learning from you all, hoping to lucid dream at some point and explore that, and continue to deepen my understanding of nightmares. I’m a yoga teacher and yoga therapist in training, counselor, mom of four, writer, lover of drum circles, meditator (mostly Buddhist), companion to two small cats … grateful to be here and to absorb all this!

7 Likes

Welcome @BelleMere!

I wanted to approach your post as accurately as I could ‘linguistically’ so please excuse me for using AI in expressing what I am trying to portray :smiling_face:.

"Understanding and approaching fear in a transformative way, especially in contexts like nightmares or stressful situations, can be incredibly empowering. Here’s how one might begin to see things from this perspective:

1. Redefine Fear: Recognize that fear isn’t your enemy. It’s a natural response and a form of energy that can be redirected. Fear signals areas where we can grow and evolve. Instead of labeling these experiences as negative, view them as opportunities for expansion.

2. Mindful Observation: When fear arises, practice becoming an observer of your thoughts and feelings without getting swept up in them. See your fear; don’t be your fear. This technique is about awareness without immediate reaction or judgment, allowing you to perceive your fears without giving them power over you.

3. Letting Go of Resistance: Understand that resistance often strengthens fear. The more you resist or fight against it, the more it persists. Instead, allow your thoughts and fears to flow naturally, acknowledging their presence and then letting them pass. This doesn’t mean giving in to fear, but rather permitting it to dissolve through non-resistance.