Greetings from Glasgow, Scotland

Dear oneironauts!

I’m a PhD student in philosophy of mind and cognitive science at Glasgow University, in Scotland (UK).

I have been researching the topic of dreaming from a scientific perspective for quite a lot of time and I have always been interested in using dream experiences to develop theories of consciousness. In the last years, I have been looking into states of pure awareness and meditation and for my thesis, I’m especially interested in knowing whether we can reach those sort of states during sleep.

What brings me here is my research on the topic to connect with others that might have had more ‘unusual’ type of conscious states during sleep. On a different thread, I posted about a survey that I’m currently conducting to gather more information about the different sort of sleep consciousness that we can have. You can assess it here:
https://survey.eu.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_6zBXR8J8cwhxCyp

Parallel to the survey, I’m also conducting phenomenological interviews with individuals that have had instances of awareness devoid of any sort of ‘ordinary’ content during sleep. I believe that this isn’t such an unusual experience and this can also be reached through hypnagogic states or the dissolution of a lucid dream. If you are unsure if you could be a good participant, I recommend you to check out my survey, which might give you a good insight on it!

I’m looking forward to connecting with others!

Adriana

3 Likes

Welcome, Adriana. Your topic sounds very interesting. Is your research aimed at describing awareness devoid of ordinary content, or might there be an additional aspect of looking into how to cultivate such states?

2 Likes