Having my second LD: help please!

My name is Jason. Lucid dreams were for a long time just something I assumed I just didn’t do. I have been practicing meditation for 30+ years, but not very seriously (not my core practice). I was studying dreamwork on a psychotherapy course and the subject of lucid dreams came up and I suddenly realised a dream I’d had about 3 weeks before was lucid, or to be precise pre-lucid (simply that I became aware in the dream that I was dreaming). Since then I have been wanting to replicate the experience intentionally, but have not succeeded so far. I have tried several techniques, herbs/supplements, external prompts, hypnosis etc. I am determined to have my second lucid dream and establish a regular practice. What are the best ways to have my second lucid dream?

7 Likes

Hi there!

I find having the intention (said in my mind or aloud) that I wish to have a lucid dream tonight helps me achieve more lucidity in dreams.

Have your read Andrew Holecek’s Dream Yoga and Dreams of Light books? They are excellent with various practices to help achieve lucidity. I’ve experimented with several and found them helpful. But I still believe it all boils down to prepping your mind with intention in having them and this helps. My fingers are crossed you get to experience another one soon!

5 Likes

Hey Jason!

The path toward lucidity must be a personal one so anything that I or others offer will only be a menu of sorts. One thing that I have found, though is that it is a good idea to find a methodology that you are comfortable with and stick with it for a while to allow it to take hold rather than jump around from technique to technique.