A Dream Taste of Enlightened Mind?

I recently dreamed that I was attending a meditation retreat. Sitting on my cushion I closed my eyes and instantly disappeared into an infinite field of empty dazzling space. I WAS the infinite empty dazzling space! Seemed like I was in this space for some time before waking up out of it. While in this space it seemed timeless, so hard to know how long this lasted. It felt like I had been granted a little taste of enlightened mind, so I continued lying in bed meditating and seemed to be able to somewhat consciously re-enter this state. I would be curious to know if anyone has experienced this sort of “taste of enlightenment” in a dream or sleep state.

3 Likes

@fenwizard

I am no expert, but I have heard Andrew describe Sleep Yoga as being very similar to what you said you experienced, if not the same thing.

Did you have a sense of self/ego during this experience that was able to differentiate between you and the space?

Very cool dream, I am jealous. I have not experienced this depth of meditation before, so I think,that means I need to start practicing more and longer.

5 Likes

@fenwizard Sounds like you touched the state of rigpa, congratulations. Remember to not cling to this experience (i.e. develop attachment to it).
During a lucid dream, it is one technique to sit down, meditate and close one’s eyes in order to enter rigpa. When I manage to do that, I touch briefly on rigpa but do not have the stability to remain there for very long and black out. In the morning, I wake up feeling happy.
The practice to attain stability is shamata.

5 Likes

@NightHawk999 Yes, that sounds like a sleep yoga experience what fenwizard wrote about.
It seems to me that he entered rigpa via dream. That’s one possibility.
The other would be to enter during waking state meditation by practicing dzogchen meditation.