Question about 99 days

I have a few questions for Allison. I think you mentioned in another post that at the beginning of your lucid dreaming pursuits that you attempted to LD for 99 days in a row without much success. Were you trying the same technique every night? If so…what was it? Did you go right to having 1 or 2 lucid dreams per week after the 99 days?
What has helped you the most in becoming a consistent and accomplished lucid dreamer?
I have been working on having lucid dreams for many years…but have only had a small handful. Would love to hear more about your journey.

Kindly,

Bob

5 Likes

Hi @Bob44, Nice to meet you!

You’re right, I mentioned 99 days to lucidity in my post about supplements, specifically on my experiences with Galantamine.

For clarity, I did have lucid dreams during those days, but ONLY with the support of Galantamine. Using it was a fantastic crutch to give me a sense of what is possible. I ultimately decided to stop using it until I could achieve and sustain lucidity over time without it.

//

Now for your questions:

Q.) Were you trying the same technique every night? If so…what was it?

A.) Every night, I was (and still am) practicing Wake Back to Bed - waking up around 5:00, meditating or reading about dreaming for 10 - 20 minutes and going back to sleep.

I have always liked Andrew’s 21 breaths meditation so I will count 21 long deep breathes and then visualize a red lotus (or red circle on occasion) in my throat center which I learned from his book. I do this practice while focusing on hypnogogic imagery when I get back into bed nearly every night to this day.

I was also (and still) do a dedicated nighttime ritual. The activities of it change, but I always take at least 30 minutes to wind down, practice a short meditation, read quietly, dim the lights, maybe take a bath… avoiding any screen time.