Question from the dream bardo

Is it feasible to build another room on this club…or premature?

I wondered this in my sleep as I dug through my bag of dreaming toys and found nothing I wanted to play with.

The dream toys I have mostly involve activity, motion, physical skills, plot lines, intellectual feats, and cinematic special effects. None of those play a big part in my waking life, so it’s not surprising they also don’t sparkle in my sleep.

Call me an old fuddy duddy, but I’m interested in digging through the toy box that’s filled with the rest of the brain’s tricks: sensory and non-sensory perception, emotion, awareness, space and non-verbal nothingness. It’s all in there, and I’m feeling like a bear in a virgin dump.

I know there’s plenty of nice smelly garbage in this landfill. I’ve had glimpses for 60 years of disembodied emotion, sensation detatched from any story, form existing by itself in dream space…but I’m a novice at moving into and through those dreams.

I know. Can’t run ‘til you walk. Can’t play sonatas ‘til you play scales.

Breath meditation is like walking and scales, though. I’m not talking about levitation (running, sonatas) in the room I’m proposing. I’m asking if there’s a critical mass of us here playing with the basics of non-programatic dreaming. Don’t get me wrong: I’m not trying to explore meditation in deeper dream states…yet…only wanting to look at non-physical, non-active dreaming in the more shallow states.

Does that make any sense at all?! I’m having trouble articulating what I’m imagining. Help!

Are there enough people here yet interested in that world to get a side conversation going?

Hi hi Alan -

I think you’re talking about the more advanced, Sleep Yoga and Bardo Yoga, yes? “Dreams” of the Clear Light mind? Non-dualistic awareness?